Skip to content

Armadillos, babies, celebrities, and hawks

01/25/2011

Several random things to tide you over while I compose a nice long update about how things are going here in Texas:

1.  Today I saw my first armadillo!! The little guy was along side of the road(alive) on my drive home, with his pointy little nose and his crazy armored self.  Sadly, I was not able to capture him with my camera.  Or otherwise capture him, I hear they are fiesty.  The 2 lane highway I drove back to College Station on has almost no shoulder at all and nowhere for me to pull over.  So my initial reaction find a place to turn my car around and head back and get a pic was quickly vetoed by logic and safety.   BUT I REALLY DID SEE ONE!!  I fear certain members of my family will not believe me. I don’t have the greatest track record  and they never ever believe me when I spot the wildlife first out in Colorado, but I think its because they enjoy seeing me spaz out when my honesty and honor is called into question.

But here is roughly what the armadillo looked like:

2.  CONGRATULATIONS PAULA AND DREW!!!!!!!  And Happy 1 Week Birthday Evelyn Kate!!  She is one lucky girl because she has Paula & Drew for parents and they are among the nicest, funniest, most caring, fun, goofy (in a good way), and all around good people that I know.    I can’t wait to meet their little peanut!

3. I  (almost) MET A CELBRITY!!!

[Background: Joe & I have been working on our bucket lists of things we want to do before we die, and also our bucket lists for this next year.  I said that I want to meet a celebrity because I never have.  Except Kirk Ferentz- we had coffee together and it was magical.  Okay, I only just saw him at Starbucks, but it still made my year. ]

[Additional Background: I LOVE Brian Williams of NBC Nightly News.]

Last week, while driving home from work, I was talking to my mom on the phone and she says “Hi Brian”, which is no surprise to me because that’s what we do.  We say hi to the newspeople.  And then she asked me if I’m in College Station.

Me: Well, I’m on my way back… why?

Mama:  Oh, Brian is there.  He’s at the George Bush library.

Me: Brian Williams????

Mama: Yup.  Oh, now he’s at a round table.  He is there with the senior Bush.  Ooooh he needs a haircut.  And … Colin Powell.. and Dick Cheney..

Me: The George Bush Presidential Library??? I drive by that on my way home!!!

And so, as I drove by the expansive lawn of the library, I found myself switching lanes.  And then I found myself turning into the parking lot.  And then I began to wonder what my plan was.  Was I going to go in and just start looking around for Brian Williams?? What would say if I met him?? Is my camera too obnoxiously large to ask someone to take a picture of us.  And then… I chickened out.  Brave Molly was nowhere to be found and I had to be content knowing I was outside of the building a celebrity was in.  WOW.  Does that ever sounds creepy and stalkerish.

And finally, #4.

As along as you have read this far, I know you aren’t pressed for time.  Need more to help you procrastinate from whatever you are supposed to be doing?? Love all things Iowa Hawkeyes?? Going through withdrawal since the college football season ended?? (I’m looking your way Craig…)

Then check this out:

http://worldwidewaltons.blogspot.com/2011/01/2011-hawkeye-football-recruiting-update.html

Joe’s blog is clever and witty and much more well thought out then -say, a blog with a picture of an armadillo.  🙂

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Larry & Carol Bailey permalink
    01/26/2011 6:39 am

    Hi Molly & Joe

    It sounds like you are having quite an adventure. We really enjoy your blog! Keep writing!

    Missing a picture of an armadillo, (there will probably be another chance) but missing a picture with Brain Williams, maybe not.

    I’m glad things are going well. We are looking forward to seeing you in February.

  2. Paula permalink
    01/26/2011 4:39 pm

    Hey Molly!! Evie says thanks for the birthday wish! She can’t wait to meet you and Joe! Hope Texas is treating you guys well! MISS YOU!!!!!

  3. Jack Harris permalink
    01/27/2011 9:49 am

    Molly, I do believe you saw an armadillo. Picnic tables are not that small. Pops

Leave a Reply

