Skip to content

State Quarter Project

02/23/2011

I’d like to introduce you to one of my Bucket List goals and update the progress of it.  It originated from wanting to visit all 50 states.  But that seemed too cliche.  So I got to thinking, what if …. what if I got a state quarter from each state when I visited? Or, what if I spent a state quarter in each state!  Hmmm…. and I could be consistent and always spend it on the same thing…  Hmm.. and I LOVE ice cream!

Soooo, the multiple step goal goes something like this:

Collect all 50 state quarters {check}

[had to be completed before moving on to step 2]

Visit all 50 states {in progress}

Spend state quarter while visiting corresponding state {3 down, 47 to go!}

The first ever quarter ice cream was in Hawaii, on our honeymoon.  It was the last quarter I collected and first to spend.

I believe the flavor was… Kauai Pie. 

And it was delicious!!

We got the ice cream in Lahaina.  Sigh… wish I was doing an assignment in Maui right now.

Next state quarter spent was…

COLORADO!

The flavor was Cappuccino Crunch.

We were at Bonnie Brae  Ice Cream.  If you are in Denver, I heartily recommend it.  I would rate it four out of four cones!

So on our road trip down here, we stayed overnight in Oklahoma City and I declared that we would spend a quarter that night.  I called around and found an ice cream place still open.  It got lots of good reviews online.  So off we went to check it out.

I don’t remember the flavor… it had been a long day of driving 12 or so hours. Also, I don’t remember the name of the place.  But it was very strange and there was grocery section.  I don’t know.  And the ice cream was so-so.   Step it up, Oklahoma.

You might have noticed that I haven’t spent my Iowa or Texas state quarters yet.  Fear not, I have picked out the place for my Texas quarter (Blue Bell), but I am waiting for an opportunity for Joe & I to go since its in Brenham where I work, 45 minutes away from where we live.  And as for the Iowa quarter, my plan is the Whitey’s on 53rd in D-port, because that is the single one place in the world I have eaten the most ice cream.  It is my very favorite ice cream place.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Paula permalink
    02/23/2011 6:43 pm

    this, molly bailey, is why i love you. a blog entry dedicated to ice cream! WE MISS YOU!!!!

  2. Marie Eckstein permalink
    02/23/2011 7:20 pm

    We know where you can spend your quarter in Michigan. It must be Moomers in Traverse City!

  3. Kara permalink
    02/24/2011 8:34 am

    I REALLY want ice cream right now. Unfortunate that it is only 9:34 in the morning…

  4. Kara permalink
    02/24/2011 8:35 am

    Oh yeah, you haven’t spent your Indiana quarter yet have you??? I have the most perfect place! They have FRENCH SILK ICE CREAM!!!

    • 02/24/2011 10:51 pm

      sorry… I spent my Indy quarter already… I actually visit a lot and forget to tell you/visit you….
      JK!!!!!!!!! In my entire life I’ve never been to Indiana without you. That includes some NCYC action and visiting Mel in South Bend 🙂

  5. 02/24/2011 9:13 pm

    I LOVE this idea! Good for you. And there is nothing better to spend it on than ice cream! 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. State Quarter Project: Wisconsin « DailyBaileys

Leave a Reply

