Skip to content

DailyBaileys 365 Project>> 2nd Week of January

03/01/2011

First week in Texas!!

1.8.11

1.9.11

These are not bugs!  Gnocchi with a balsamic reduction… sadly did not turn out.  My personal chef– his name is Joe– makes all kinds of wonderful  foods almost every day, making me one lucky girl.  These gnocchi were not so lucky.

1.10.11

First day of work at my clinic!  Oh, but Molly, you won’t be at the outpatient clinic this week.  We need you to fill in at the hospital.  Gulp– oh, okay.

1.11.11

A success!!!  These were fabulous!!

1.12.11

You’ve already seen this one.  It was on the side of a ice cream parlor/restaurant in downtown Brenham called Must Be Heaven.

1.13.11

Boring picture, I know.  I’m a beginner! There are so many fun buildings in Brenham and I want to get fun pictures of them, but I’m still working on it.

1.14.11

Friday!! I survived my first week of work  (but not really, because I still had to go in that weekend BOTH days- booo..) But we busted out the boots and hit up the town of College Station.  Though to clarify, only I was wearing boots.

So how was that first week of work?? It was 40 hours spent well outside of my comfort zone.  I knew that it was going to be challenging, I knew it would be uncomfortable being new to the clinic and meeting all new people.  I knew it wasn’t going to be anything like the clinic that I had just left- and loved.  But knowing all that still didn’t fully prepared me.  Especially since I spent the first week filling in at the hospital for someone on vacation.  I hadn’t done inpatient since my internships.  And the hospital was busy.  And there wasn’t a PT for me to ask any questions.  Oh, but there was wound care.  A veryvery small percent of PTs do wound care.  I paid enough attention in school to get through the class.  I saw zero wound care on any of my internships.  And so here I found myself debriding a wound on someone’s rear end.  Did I mention I was out of my comfort zone???   BUT all in all, everyone was very nice and helpful and I made it through the week and the weekend and I remained optimistic.  Afterall, the more confident I feel in other settings besides outpatient, means more assignments I will be open to taking down the line.  So when that inpatient assignment comes up for Maui, I’ll be ready!!

One Comment leave one →
  1. Kara permalink
    03/02/2011 7:53 am

    Love the boots!!!

Leave a Reply

