Skip to content

State Capital Time: Austin edition

03/21/2011

One January Saturday, we exclaimed ‘adventure is out there!!!’ and we took off for Austin.  We were each in charge of picking out one thing to do.  Joe’s pick was a place he had seen on the Food Network:

The Salt Lick!  It was about 20 miles west of Austin and popular and busy on a Saturday, but absolutely worth it.

Joe’s plate.  How awesome is his shirt?? It looks like the dude on it is the one about to take on all that food.

Joe informs me that they do a vinegar-based bbq sauce, vs. a more standard tomato-based sauce.  I thought it was magical.  I couldn’t get the ribs though.  Usually I love ribs, but the last time we had them, I gave myself a head trip thinking about the anatomy of the ribs and which muscles I was eating? And how weird it was that I was even holding a rib.  And as much as I wanted to, I couldn’t stop thinking about it.  So at the Salt Lick, I got a sandwich.

Which I promptly separated out and ate each ingredient individually.  Even the bread.  Cause that’s how I roll.

Joe does not share my new-found weirdness with ribs:

And we got the previously mentioned blackberry cobbler (aside: to all you savvy bloggers out there, if i wanted to make the word ‘cobbler’ be a link to a past post, how do I go about doing that? thanks!)

Here’s a shot of the barbecue pit.

Next we headed into downtown Austin.  We drove around a bit and then ended up at the capital.  We are nerds like that.

And a little bit closer now.

As I was taking pictures looking up to the dome ceiling and looking down over the railing, I noticed Joe standing by the wall taking a few pictures with our other camera.  Then I saw him inch forward, keeping one hand on the wall.  He made a quick movement from holding onto the wall to holding on to the railing- tightly- as he slowly peered over the balcony.  And that’s when he heard my camera and realized I had been watching him, documenting his fear of heights.*

* I am willing to exploit his fear of heights because actually he has gone skydiving, and though its on my bucket list, I have not.  Yet.  And I am jealous.

Next up we drove around University of Texas’ campus.  I didn’t want to like it, but I kind of did.

For my pick, I wanted to do a little shopping in the South Congress area.  I got my BOOTS there!! Not real cowboy boots by any means, but fun nonetheless.  And a lot more affordable than the $400 authentic boots we saw- on clearance.

I wish I would have taken more picture here, of all the vibrant, eclectic shops– and the cupcake stand! But it was getting towards the end of the day, and my feet were hurting, and I just wasn’t feeling it.  Plus, I was holding my new boots!  Sorry, Austin, I guess I’ll just have to come back. 🙂

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

