Skip to content

Happy Easter!!!

04/30/2011

Now that the sugar-induced coma has subsided and all I leave in my wake is the wrappers of  reese’s peanut butter cup eggs (seriously, the perfect ratio of peanut butter to chocolate!), I’d like to bid you a very happy Easter!!

Joe & I are up here in Kenosha, WI, getting all settled in and trying to remember what sunshine is… and we headed down to Davenport for a quick weekend celebrating Easter in ways unique to Harris family.  I dusted off my neglected camera and tried to document all the fun.

The cast of characters included:

this guy.

the redhead.

and tommy (who always greets me with this much enthusiasm).

and katie, who steps up the easter egg decorating every year- both with creativity and inappropriateness.  that’s a sticker from the egg decorating on her face, not the early signs of leprosy.

usually the egg decorating gets both competitive and feisty with mysterious eggs emerging from their mug of dye to reveal messages like ‘molly smells’ and ‘mike = slytherin’…. but the crayons kind of sucked this year, so we mostly just watched kyle create  really ugly egg with all the different colors.

after all 36 eggs were colored and table cleared off, we got our dollar bills and our oatmeal cookies (the latter being a delicious drink) and started the gambling!!

Left, right center!! (with some Kyle Kurrency)

Even Rocky wanted to play.

But he HATES losing!!! He must have rolled 3 C’s this round…

Mike on the other hand… not so intimidating.

Now fast-forwarded to the next day.  The eggs have been hidden by the Easter bunny and the hunt is about to begin.  We gathered in the kitchen with our traditional paper bags and waited for the signal to go.  Sidenote: do I think there was foul play at the start slowing me (the biggest threat in the hunt) down?  I can’t answer that without sounding like a bad sport.  But, I will say this, Kyle is a much stronger competitor if we do the easter egg hunt in the afternoon vs. first thing in the morning.

And we’re off!!

When all was said and done, Kyle and Tommy tied for first and I placed third.  Embarrassing, but at least I medaled.  My husband on the other hand, came in last.  We’ll be training for next time.

And then comes the fun part!! Who can eat 36 eggs?? No one in their right mind.  So we throw some of them off the deck, aiming for the big tree.

Here’s some of the aftermath at the base of the tree.

And my mom’s throw was WAY off from the tree, but perhaps the most impressive as it landed right in flowering pot and barely broke.

So there you have it.  Hope you all had a great Easter!!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Paula permalink
    04/30/2011 11:07 am

    i know why joe lost. the evidence: an action shot of him heading BACK into the kitchen. i’m not too familiar with the harris family easter egg hunt, but common sense would tell one that eggs would not be hidden where the hunt began…. he probably really thought he was on to something, looking for eggs where no one else thought to look….

  2. Kara permalink
    05/01/2011 7:05 am

    That’s awesome. Ask your parents if they will adopt me so I can come next year.

  3. Kerry permalink
    05/02/2011 10:21 am

    Wasn’t Tommy supposed to take me to Prom? I think he forgot…

Leave a Reply

