Skip to content

That’s right… Dubuque, IA!

09/22/2011

Surprised?? We are too.  But we are also very excited.

So how did Dubuque come to be our future home for three months?

Last Friday, our world and nicely laid plans all got flipped upside down.   We had been offered an extension here in Philly, and we have been enjoying our time here so much that after much debating and pro/con lists, we decided to go for it.  The extension was for 4 weeks, and we were working on possibly 4 more, so that we would be all done in Philadelphia right before Christmas.  That way, according to our grand plan, we could drive home and spend time in Iowa for the holidays.   (yay).  Then drive on out west at take an assignment in California.

But then at the end of last week, my employer here let me know that they had changed their minds and they wouldn’t be extending me afterall.  They were actually planning to close several of their clinics, mine included, and felt timing wise, this was the best time to do it.  They were very nice about it.  But suddenly, all those plans we made were out the window.  Oh, and they were going by my original end date, which was a week sooner than we expected.  (Most contracts are 13 weeks long, but I started on a Wednesday, so we pushed the end date back so it was more like 13 and a half weeks… but they decided to go with the 12 and a half weeks)  Okkaaaay.

Oh yeah.  And the company I work for was having staffing changes so the California state license that I thought was in progress.. was not.  not, in fact, in progress.  I was pretty bummed about this because the CA license takes at least 8 weeks, and for once in my life I had been on top of things and gotten all the paperwork turned into my company about 5 weeks ago.  But sadly, I would have to finish the process myself.  And with only 6ish weeks to find the next assignment, it was quickly obvious that California would be off the table for now.

I was feeling a little overwhelmed about all this, but lucky for me, I’ve got this amazing husband-guy Joe.  He is so positive and so good at brainstorming and problem-solving (thanks southwestern!)  Twenty minutes after I had called him to let him know, he called back with several great ideas.  The best of which was this: Iowa.  So we looked into the available jobs and got excited about a possible Cedar Rapids one, but it ended being filled when I put my name in on Monday.  Then applied for the Dubuque one on Tuesday, and interviewed later that day and had it all figured out by Wednesday.  Whew!  Things happen quick with this crazy life we live.

Reasons we are excited about our next assignment:

#1 The holidays!!! Being able to spend the holidays with family will be so wonderful.  We were realizing that if we were out in Cali, it might be hard to get home for Christmas and we were pretty bummed about the thought of missing it.

2.  Being close by family and friends.  We can’t wait to make it to Iowa City and get caught up with people, maybe do a little tailgating for a Hawkeye game, maybe go the Scheels (I miss you Scheels), maybe go to Red’s in North Liberty.   Also, right in Dubuque…. those 2 adorable nephews from the previous post and their fun parents Angie & John!  Here’s one more pic, because I can’t help it.

(Angie, I will be submitting an application for babysitter, so look for that in the mail. How many references would you like?)

3.  We can hopefully get some furniture and stuff from our storage unit, so we wouldn’t have to find furnished housing.  That will help save some dolla-dolla bills, y’all.  Which will help with our Saving for a House & a Dog Fund, for whenever it is we decide to not be so nomadic.

4.  Joe already has his Iowa subbing license, so hopefully he can get right into subbing.

5.  Living History Farm Race!! I am super pumped to not have to miss this event. Now I have get brainstorming costume ideas.  I can’t let Shannon down.  Here is 2 years ago.

I can’t find any pictures from last year, but it involved running the 7 miles in footie pajamas and furry earflap hat.

6.  There is a HuHot in Dubuque.

7.  2nd Annual Christmas Cookie Baking Extravaganza!  Hide yo sugar. Hide yo flour.

8.  I am excited about the clinic I will be working in.  It sounds like a good fit, and I am promised plenty of total knees patients that older adults and farmers.

9.  Lots of other fun reasons, most of which involve getting to spend time with favorite people!!

All of these reasons far outweigh the winter I was trying to avoid.   We will be there starting in November through the end of January.  Then after that…. who knows?

Oh and a fun fact I learned while reading the Dubuque Wikipedia page….. Tony Danza went to college there, at the University of Dubuque.  Tony Danza!!  I wonder if he ever makes trips back?

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Di Schutt permalink
    09/23/2011 8:32 am

    You need to write a book..Hilarious…

  2. 09/23/2011 9:41 am

    Yay! The Fath family would like to: reserve a weekend with the Baileys and invite you to stay with us for Living History Farms race.

    • 09/23/2011 2:00 pm

      I say YAY to both of those!! I can’t wait to meet your sweet baby girl!! Do you think Audra will know to call me Big Molly? 🙂 Wait, is Little Molly taller than me now? Dang.

  3. Angie Pagel permalink
    09/23/2011 10:11 am

    We are so excited you will be in Dubuque!!! For other babysitters I need 5 references and a two page essay stating why you would like to take care of our children…but for you guys I’ll let it slide! 🙂 Also, I don’t know what you need for furniture, but we have some stuff in our basement you can borrow while you’re here if you want. Ex. futon, coffee table, 2 rolly microwave carts, a little tykes tool bench! 🙂 So excited!! YAH!!

    • 09/23/2011 2:03 pm

      Whew! I could only find 4 references! Ang- we are so excited to be living so close to you guys!! And we might be taking you up on some of that furniture. I’m not sure what all we’ll need, but I’ll be in touch as we get more organized. Thanks!!

  4. Carol Bailey permalink
    09/23/2011 2:27 pm

    YAY!!! We join with all the rest who are excited about having you back in Iowa!! Hope to get to see lots more of you!!

  5. shannon permalink
    10/05/2011 10:34 pm

    BEST travel assignment yet!!! Mud, creeks, and donuts here we come. WHOOOOOOOO!!!!

Leave a Reply

