Skip to content

More DC: White House

11/23/2011

What’s a trip to Washington DC without seeing the White House??  But before we get any further, I have a confession to make.  What I thought was the front of the White House, is actually the back.  And the front? I don’t think I have ever seen before.

{I have another confession.  I just googled all that to make sure I got it right.}

Back of the White House.


And the front.  This is the side on Pennsylvania Avenue.  Who knew?  (Probably everyone who isn’t me).

Front or back, all of it is cool to see.  On a future trip to DC, I’d love to do a tour.  We didn’t realize how far in advance you have to contact your Congress people to request tickets for a tour, so it didn’t work out this time.  But hopefully another time, another trip!

Dang.  Our heads are covering the White House.  This could be a picture anywhere.  You’ll just have to trust me.

After enough pictures, I start getting weird.  And then Joe usually gives me a look like this…

There was good people watching on Pennsylvania Ave, with various groups of protesters.  In this picture, its hard to tell, but there are three different things going on.  Dude with the signs in front was doing his own thing, but what he was protesting was a little unclear (probably should work on that…).  The people circled around with yellow flags were one group.  And in the background is another group marching by.  Then the yellow flags decided to join the marching group, so then everyone, sans white posterboard guy, was marching down to the end of the street and back.  If I remember right, they had some pretty good chants going on.

By now we were getting pretty hungry, so it was time to set off to find some delicious eats.

Leave a Reply

