Skip to content

Where we are and where we are headed

08/08/2012

This summer we have been pretty lucky.  We have lots of opportunities to see lots of family and friends– weddings, class reunion-ing, family gatherings, house warming, and general get-together goodness.

So we found ourselves fielding the oft heard questions of ‘so where are you guys at now?’ and ‘what/where is next?’  Vague answers were often given as our plans slowly took shape.  But with less than two weeks left in Dubuque, we finally have some more concrete answers to such questions!

Okay, the ‘where are you at now?’ one is pretty easy. We have been here in Dubuque since the end of May.  I took a second assignment at Finley Hospital for 9 weeks, and was extended an extra 3 weeks into August, to help cover some vacations.  So many great people here, I have enjoyed my time here just as much now as I did in November-January.  The only difference is this time I have been in the inpatient department.  It was great getting back into the inpatient swing of things.  Challenging and out of my comfort zone at first, but really rewarding overall.

We are living in the same apartment we did in the winter.  I haven’t gotten in any more fights with the cranky lady who lives over the laundry, but we did get yelled at and honked at by some Russian neighbors.  (I think its misplaced Olympic rage. They probably heard me cheering wildly during the women’s gymnastics.)

And the best part of being in Dubuque has been being able to go to all those aforementioned events with friends and family!  And these two dudes.


So what’s next???

We are moving back to Iowa City!!  We are hanging up our traveling shoes and putting down roots.  Joe is starting classes at University of Iowa.  He will take history classes and education classes and in 2 to 3 years, he will be a high school history teacher. (Yay!!) And probably get involved in coaching as well. (Double yay!!)   I’m so excited for him and so proud of him!

And after a long summer of job hunting, I have a job! It’s in Cedar Rapids, at an outpatient orthopedic physical therapy clinic.  I met the people I will be working with on Friday, and I am really excited.  Everyone is very nice and I think it will be a good fit.

And where will we live??? I have an answer to that one too!  While I was interviewing places on Friday, Joe was busy checking out apartments and signing a lease!  The House Committee came through big on this one.  It’s in Coralville (so easy for me to drive up to Cedar Rapids and not a bad drive for Joe to campus), it has 2 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms (so guests are welcome!), it has a DISHWASHER! (one of our only must-haves… I can’t keep washing dishes by hand), and dogs are okay (our other qualification) and washer and dryer in the unit (which I hadn’t even let myself dream of) and a nice sliding door that opens up to a patio that will make it easy to take a future little dog out.  Oh, such joys! We are going to start moving things in the next two weekends.

We are getting pretty excited to unpack our storage unit.  So much of our stuff that we haven’t seen in over a year and a half, it will be like Christmas to unpack!  At least that’s what I keep telling myself to mentally prepare for the whole moving process.


(okay, truthfully, looking at this picture gives me a minor panic attack… i’m trying to focus on the fun on finding out just what’s in all those mystery boxes)

And the other thing we are getting excited for?? PUPPY!!!! With a job and an apartment secured, we have officially launched into a full on puppy hunt.  Complete with Excel spreadsheet. So if you hear of any yellow lab puppies in the Iowa City area, let us know.  And if you have a pick-up truck in the Iowa City area, let us know too 🙂  (But that one is more for the moving than the puppy)

Whew. So that’s our update.  I didn’t bother to bust out my thesaurus and use any other word besides excited, because that pretty just sums things up for us.

And in the meantime, I will be counting down the days left of washing dishes by hand.  And finding an excuse to have another Date Night with this little monkey.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Carol Bailey permalink
    08/09/2012 6:56 am

    We are so happy for you guys! Congrats on your new job, Molly! I’m also happy that Joe is following his dream to become a H.S. teacher. He will be a good one. We have a pickup. I told Joe yesterday that we could help sometime. Just give us a call.

  2. 08/09/2012 7:06 am

    Such great news, Molly! I’ve missed my dose of Daily Baileys. Hope to see you in the Iowa City area soon!!! Congrats again to both of you.

  3. Theresa permalink
    08/09/2012 8:48 pm

    So glad to see you at Bix and am thrilled that you are settling close to the QCA. Hope your transition goes smoothly. Keep in touch and if you EVER want to come check out all the great food, sites (especially our zoo and botanical gardens) please come and stay with us in St. Louis. We would love to have you and Joe!

  4. Shelley Haisman permalink
    08/10/2012 7:50 am

    Thrilled for you guys!!! Glad to have you a little closer. You and Joe are always welcome in our neck of the woods, and we can’t wait to see your place!

Leave a Reply

